img_0632

BACKPACKING ALBAY: BEST FOODIE IN TOWN


I’m a food critic and my husband knows that, my taste bud loves sumptuous and heavenly foodies but my wallet don’t agree with me all the time, 🙂 in short I’m KURIPOT. I don’t wanna spend big time when eating out.

In this blog, I’m recommending the best foodies that we have experienced during our visit in Albay. These are just four because most of the time you will see us having our lunch at the Public Market eatery.

WAWAYS EAT ALL YOU CAN. [DAY 1 DINNER]

Located at National Highway, Legazpi City. From the City Centre you can hire a tricycle (Php30) that will bring you in the resto.

Originally we are planning to have our dinner at Sibid-Sibid Restaurant but the menu price is not that affordable specially if you are on a budget.

1
We are the last customer, the resto is about to close.

Waway’s eat all you can offers a good selection of menu for only PHP250, including unlimited drinks. Not bad if you’re not on a diet!

LET’S PINANGAT. [DAY 2 LUNCH]

We cannot leave Albay without trying their delicacies we’ve heard from the locals that the best Pinangat are serve in the town of Camalig.

PINANGAT, a popular Bicolano dish, is actually a combination of gabi leaves, ginger, dried fish, pork, shrimp paste (balaw) and crushed siling labuyo cooked in coconut milk. I think most of the non-Bicolanos are more familiar with laing. Pinangat differs from the regular laing because the former involves a more elaborate preparation. The secret to a yummy pinangat is having the best quality gabi leaves and ensuring that the coconut is of good quality as well.

img_0446
Pinangat (Php45)

There are several eateries specializing Pinangat but the famous and crowdies is in LET’S PINANGAT located in Brgy 2 National Highway Camalig, Albay.

BIGGS DINER. [DAY 3 DINNER]

I don’t usually eat at Fastfood Resto, but BIGGS Diner is exceptional. Why? Three reasons: [1] tasty Korean Spareribs and Kimchi [2] Cool Ambiance [3] Customer Service is SUPERB. My hubby and I is scouting for a fancy resto to spend my thirtyish birthday but destiny finds our way here, first I had a doubt that the food taste like ordinary but I was wrong. The Korean Spareribs and Kimchi is a must try, it’s tender and juicy and the price is reasonable. (Php180)

1
The cool ambiance of the resto.

I also ordered a mini carrot cake with candle to celebrate my birthday, when we’re about to start our dinner the manager approach us and brought another cake and says it’s “on the house, happy birthday from all of us here at BIGGS.” I was speechless, thank you BIGGS Pacific Mall branch for making my last night in Legazpi so special.

4
Smiling with my gift from BIGGS Diner Legazpi

BIGGS Diner has two branches in Albay, [1] Ground Floor, Pacific Mall, Legazpi City and [2]

CHACHI’S KITCHEN. [DAY 4 LUNCH]

We accidentally found this eatery while searching for the famous Small Talk Cafe, I’m not a fan of Indian cuisine but the Butter Chicken (Php95) and Beef Masala (Php95) is so so haven and heaven. We also order the Pav bhaji (Php65) as our side dish and Mango Lassi (Php250). The Owner Cecil and Chachi Doris service is so fantastic, they personally prepare their food and accommodates their customer with a smile.

img_0638
Namaste!

 

The eatery is located in No. 8 Tandang Sora Street Legazpi, nearest Landmark is the Legazpi Church and Albay Pili Nut. From City Centre you can ride a jeepney bound to Daraga and ask the driver to drop you off at Tandang Sora Street.

Smiling with the owner Chachi (Aunt) and Cecil
Smiling with the owner Chachi (Aunt Doris) and Cecil

Leave a Reply

